Using ticks in arrays for a beginner!

Dear Forum,

I've spent the past week reading about MQL4 and trying to turn an excel model I've been working on for about 5 months now into an EA.

The thing is, I was using tick data (from http://ratedata.gaincapital.com/2010/ ) and I've only just realised how difficult it is to work with tick data on MetaTrader. I feel like I've gone from the thrilling heights of finally having a working model to the crushing lows of seeing how complicated MQL4 is for someone with no experience outside of if() functions in excel.

I've read the Array's section in the book and documentation, and also downloaded a guide for dummies on MQL4, but I'm still struggling -- (and dying to finally test my excel EA on a demo account without having to start months of work all over again). From what I've read I need to create an array.

In excel:

1. I created a moving average of the last 500 tick points.

2. I then found the slope of the moving average (I used the 4 most recent values of the MA). And so one of my indicators to buy was the steepness of this slope.

3. A second indicator was if the slope value was negative within the last 500 ticks. That way I'm not going to get onboard when a trend is nearly exhausted and the probability of upwards movement in higher (because it's the start of the wave).

4. The final indicator was comparing the correllation of the last 200 ticks against a line with a gradient of 1 (e.g. {1,2,3,4,5,6,7} using the excel correl function. If it was over a certain % --e.g. 85% -- then it was a good sign to buy (I think it gives a clearer picture than an average as you can find a clear line amongst the noise).

Can anyone suggest any code for creating an array of the most recent 500 ticks?

This is the closest discussion I've found but I had no idea about even where or how to start: https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/109833