Discussion of article "Interview with Valery Mazurenko (ATC 2010)"

New article Interview with Valery Mazurenko (ATC 2010) is published:

By the end of the first trading week, Valery Mazurenrk (notused) with his multicurrency Expert Advisor ch2010 appeared on the top position. Having treated trading as a hobby, Valery is now trying to monetize this hobby and write a stable-operating Expert Advisor for real trading. In this interview he shares his opinion about the role of mathematics in trading and explains why object-oriented approach suits best to writing multicurrency EAs.

notused

Valery,  how did you come to trading forex?

I've been working as a programmer in a dealing center for about two years. I had known nothing about financial markets before that. In the DC I was one of the two programmers to develop two versions of a client trading platform. By the way, I am still using one of them. I opened my first real account to use my robot – this was at times of MQL2. For six years I have written a lot of different Expert Advisors. Looking at all of them, I've come to a conclusion: no need to complicate an EA, the simpler the idea is the more stable the result is!

I haven't thought of financial markets as of a job until recently – trading was only a hobby for me. However, for about half a year I've been seriously trying to monetize this hobby and create a stable-operating Expert Advisor to then trade real.

How important is mathematics for successful trading?

Serious mathematics is absolutely necessary for building money management and risk management strategies. But to create a relatively lossless system, you don't have to be a mathematician. This requires two qualities: a sensible view and clear mind. For instance, on many forums you meet hot discussions like "Locks (Martingale, averaging, grid EAs, scalping) - good or bad?" For me the answers are obvious. But many traders seeing a beautiful picture in a tester or on demo fall into a trance.