For traders with successful backtests...

Hi all, 

For traders who created expert advisors with very successful backtest results, how are your EAs doing in live trading and how long have you used them?

Please share your experiences!

stitch324:

Hi all, 

For traders who created expert advisors with very successful backtest results, how are your EAs doing in live trading and how long have you used them?

Please note that any discussion concerning EAs must also have the source code for the EA attached.

stitch324:

Hi all, 

it really depends on how you do the strategy (concept of how to trade)

this is not technical, but it is a concept question

as a programmer, I have programmed several EAs, I can answer:

I have some EA which perform up to 14 days exactly like the forward testing.

and I have other EA which will perform wrongly just after 1 or 2 days

It depends on the concept/strategy of operation that you have implemented on the EA for it to trade, so this is not a technical/programming issue.

rrocchi #:

it really depends on how you do the strategy (concept of how to trade)

this is not technical, but it is a concept question

as a programmer, I have programmed several EAs, I can answer:

I have some EA which perform up to 14 days exactly like the forward testing.

and I have other EA which will perform wrongly just after 1 or 2 days

It depends on the concept/strategy of operation that you have implemented on the EA for it to trade, so this is not a technical/programming issue.

Not exactly. The tester has a lot of peculiarities one has to take into account in order to trust for back-testing results to match live trading. The whole market place is full of tester-grails.

-The tester has unrealistically high positive slippage. In order to eliminate this, test on a netting account on a custom symbol in exchange mode and use only limit orders. Then there will be zero slip - not positive not negatve.