Predicting the future with Fourier transforms - page 49

2 USSR, Svinotavr: the flooding has been taken down. That's not all, I'm just getting started.

Reshetov: I am only talking about the advantage. If the amplitude of the first harmonic exceeds several times the spread, the advantage will necessarily be reflected in the expectation. Otherwise, there is no fish here, i.e. if the amplitude is on the edge of the foul.

Hmm... "the amplitude is several times the spread"? How is that related?

LeoV:

Hmmm... "The amplitude is several times the spread"? How is that related?

Well, the amplitude is in pips and the phase is in time.

It's trivial, the amplitude is always calculated in the units in which the signal is measured.

Reshetov: Well, the amplitude is in pips and the phase is in time.

It's a matter of principle, the amplitude is always calculated in the units in which the signal is measured.

No, that's not the point. Why, if the harmonic amplitude is several times greater than the spread on historical data, this harmonic will be profitable in the future? What does this have to do with the expected payoff?

LeoV:
No, that is not the point. Why, if the harmonic amplitude is several times greater than the spread on the historical data, then this harmonic will be profitable in the future? What does it have to do with the expected payoff?

Well, if the amplitude is currently at an extremum, even a drunken hedgehog knows that it can only move towards an extremum with the opposite sign. Its future, i.e. the direction of movement is already known before the next extremum. It's trivial.

If the amplitude is equal to several spreads, then it will give an advantage of at least the size of the amplitude, which is also trivial.

USSR, chill out with the heavy and endless flubbing for 24 hours. It's a long way to go.

Reshetov: