Discussion of article "Custom symbols: Practical basics" - page 2

Mr David Frederick Roberts #:

Thanks for the response.  This is very odd, I am indeed using real ticks mode and I wasn't aware that there is a fixed spread option in MT5 so I'm sure that I'm not (I'm more familiar with MT4).  I hadn't spotted that the spreads were the same for each bar, in fact looking through the full file it seems that they only change on 1 minute boundaries.  I assume I am correct in thinking that the calls to SymbolInfoDouble() should return the prices for the tick being processed as a result of the OnTick() event call - not some kind of M1 value?

I tried printing what I expected to be the actual tick time with milliseconds using the code below, but the milliseconds value is always zero...

EDIT:  As I said I'm relatively new to MQL5 - I've just found SymbolInfoTick(), maybe I should be using that instead of what I'm doing!  I'll try that and see what happens...

Ok, that made no difference, exactly the same results, but neither of them tying up with the "Symbol Ticks" dialog in the terminal.  I was wrong in saying that the milliseconds value was always zero - it is non-zero for exactly one minute, namely the one minute before midnight!

This seems to me to be a pretty important issue.  My trading EA is expecting to receive ticks with prices which match the source imported tick-data (as would anyone else's!).  I dare say there is something that I'm doing wrong, but if so I would like to know what it is.  If not then there is a very serious problem here.  I have attached a zip file with the test EA, a spreadsheet of results for the hour either side of midnight, and some screenshots of settings and ticks.