Tips for EA programmers

I've been making EAs for a few years now, and although I may not be a master of MT4, I have picked up a number of tricks along the way. I've finally reached the point where I have two systems running on real money, doing well, and I thought I would make a quick thread with tips for those getting started or others starting to dive into more advanced functions.

Newbies! Create Your Own Include File

This is probably key to this entire article. You can create your own include file and simply pull it into all of the EAs you make. This will pull in all of the variables and functions you want without having to rewrite the same code repeatedly. I was constantly rewriting a lot of variables and other functions into my EAs and scripts before I realized what an idiot I was being.

Use the common functions include

MT4 should come with a standard include file called Common Functions. I don't use most of them, but if you're running your EA in visual mode, try out the "print()" function. Very helpful.

Save time! Skip non-trading days in your EA

If your EA only trades from to , tell it to skip all other bars. This has no effect on your system, but will vastly speed up backtesting. Simply do a TimeHour(Time[0])==whatever and if it's outside your range, "return(0);" Same goes for minutes, days, whatever.

Create a "Lotsize" function

Develop an equation for your desired maximum lotsize per the size of the account. Then, create a single function to return your desired lotsize, taking an input variable of risk. Make sure to work leverage into your function, as you may switch brokers or change account types. After that, you never need to work out lotsizes again. Simply throw in the desired risk relative to your maximum ideal trade size. (A risk of "1" is the maximum size trade you'd want to take.) I found this extremely helpful.

Create EAs that talk to each other