ArtTrader v1.5, need help testing

Hi All,

I'm quite new to the whole forex biz. My friend's traded live with Oanda and had some success (he got me into this), but I found manual trading to be too emotional. The idea of expert advisors fascinated me, so I wrote a few of my own. The one included is the one that works the best so far. It's intended to work with a spread of 2.0 on EUR/USD (I plan on using FXDD) and is only meant to work on the H1 timeframe.

I've been programming for twelve years (I'm 22), so I just threw together this EA in about four hours. Its main goal is the simplest approach of trading: buy low, sell high. It basically scalps on trends of EMA 11 on the H1 timeframe, but buys/sells at the lowest/highest possible points. Over the course of the last two months (MT4 backtest), it makes 43.5% with one lot. The code with comments and adjustable variables is included, as well as the HTM and GIF results from MT4 (build 197, just got updated today). It wins 87% of the time in these last two months!

These results were actually published in Linux. I'm running Wine on Fedora Core 5 so that I can use Microsoft programs. Unfortunately, I can't see any menu item labels, and the optimizer won't work. But when I change my OS to Windows 2000, I can't simulate past a month ago. I'm very frustrated with MT4, and I even wrote a separate C program to simulate the less-successful ArtTrader v1.4. Am I doing something wrong? Why doesn't the "Use date" function work? When I try to select a year-span, it just sits there calculating but doesn't put through any orders. This EA needs all the ticks it can get because of the way it works; perhaps M1 data isn't available from a year ago in the simulator? Seems odd.

If someone who knows how to work MT4 (or even MT3) could put through a yearly simulation/backtest, that would be very helpful. Optimization is also strongly encouraged.

Technical comments: