How to do it?

Hi there,

I need to know how can I program a code to find if a position for a currency pair is open or closed? In fact, I do not want to find if it is open. What I need is to find if it is closed...

For instance. The following code returns TRUE if a position is opened:

void CheckPosition()
{ for (int i=0; i<OrdersTotal(); i++)
{ if (OrderSelect(i, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_TRADES))
{ if (OrderSymbol()==Symbol()) //IF POSITION OPEN

Print("Position is open...:");

...in this case it will return the text "Position is open".

How can I check if it closed??? I have tried to use:

if (OrderSymbol()!=Symbol()) //using the != signal

...but it seems not to be working!!!

Can anyone help me?

Regards

Paulo

You need to find closed position in the Trade History pool. See example https://docs.mql4.com/trading/OrdersHistoryTotal

Yes. Thank you.

This is my problem. I am a newbie on mql programing and I mostly use already made code with some changes.

What I need is to use on the same routine both conditions. That is, I need to verify both if a position for a currency pair is open, and on the same time verify if a trade for that currency pair was made.

Can you please send me some code for this situation?

Thank you very much

Regards

Paulo

This is what I need this code to.

I am working on an expert advisor that is based on a profitable strategy (at least for me, and that's the most important at this time).

For several times I have tried to find someone that could develop an expert advisor for this strategy but it's always the same... is it profitable?, can you proof it?, have you got forward/back tests?... so I have decided to do it myself.

It is not a simple task since I do not understand about programming and every code I wrote was based on samples and lots of reading (and a great help from some people on this forum like TheEconomist, Ferru, and you stringo... thanks a lot).

I have almost every code ready and I am on a optmizing phase of some routines.