Simple code for MACD within EA, self contained

Hi all

I'm new to MQL. I apologise in advance if I'm asking a question that has probably been answered lots of times already, I have looked around on the forum trying to find what I need.

Simply, I'd like a snippet of code the calculates MACD and the Signal properly using EMA not the function built in to MQL that uses SMA and gives slightly different output. Is there a way to quickly do this within my own EA script without referencing out to someone elses MACD indicator?  

or is it possible to do it slightly differently, and code a MACD indicator in my own script so something is displayed, and I can use the MACD variables from that, and use the rest of my EA script to do the other stuff such as order placement etc.

thanks

idh:

Hi all

I'm new to MQL. I apologise in advance if I'm asking a question that has probably been answered lots of times already, I have looked around on the forum trying to find what I need.

Simply, I'd like a snippet of code the calculates MACD and the Signal properly using EMA not the function built in to MQL that uses SMA and gives slightly different output. Is there a way to quickly do this within my own EA script without referencing out to someone elses MACD indicator?  

or is it possible to do it slightly differently, and code a MACD indicator in my own script so something is displayed, and I can use the MACD variables from that, and use the rest of my EA script to do the other stuff such as order placement etc.

iMACD() implies that it uses EMA . .  otherwise take a look at this:  https://www.metatrader5.com/en/terminal/help/indicators/oscillators/macd

From iMACD - MQL4 Documentation
double iMACD( string symbol, int timeframe, int fast_ema_period, int slow_ema_period, int signal_period, int applied_price, int mode, int shift)

hi guys