Beginner Problems!

Firstly let me start by saying I have no coding background (bar a small bit of HTML and CSS, not much use here). I have been trying unsuccessfully to code an EA for this strategy, using online guides and taking "inspiration" from other EA's. Needless to say, it hasn't worked very well. Before I go into the code I have Frankensteined together, let me say this. I am not here to ask you to give up your time for free to write me an EA, I'm interested in learning how to myself. Before anyone links to the MQL4 book tutorial, I am already working my way through it (albeit slowly).

When compiling my EA I get the "value of OrderSend should be checked" warning. I have been working on this problem using this guide, however, it usually takes me a lot of trial and error to get anything to work so this is still in the process. As there were no errors highlighted in the code, I tried to run a Strategy Test on it to see if it actually worked (also never tried the Strategy Tester before, bet you wish you hadn't started reading now). It seems to start fine, opening a new visual chart, however, it tends to stop after a while. I have checked that I have the requisite data needed to run the test so that isn't the issue. When the test is stopped manually, the chart is populated with the required MA's and Stochastic, I'm going to take this as a small win :D On the report etc. no traded were generated so there are no test results. Also, I'm using a 5 digit broker FYI.

I feel like I'm probably missing a lot of code, I thought this would be the best place to ask. Basically what I need is someone to point me in the right direction as I feel like I have hit a wall. Any input or help is greatly appreciated. Also, I'm aware my code probably looks like shit.

//--- input parameters
input int      FastMA=100;
input int      SlowMA=200;
input int      TakeProfit=2000;
input int      StopLoss=500;
extern double   LotSize=0.04;