Newbie trying to code Ichimoku Kinko Hyo indicator into an EA. Help me please.

Hi,

Firstly I'd just like to preface this by saying i'm new to coding in general so please be gentle if I've made any obvious mistakes (which I'm sure I have).

Ok, so I'm trying to create an EA that buys and sells based off the Ichimoku Kinko Hyo indicator.

It's a super simple EA, I've left out loads of stuff to try and keep it clean, here's the bulk of it:

void OnTick()

{

//---

int Orders;

Orders = OrdersTotal();

if(Orders<1)ichimoku();

}     

void ichimoku() 

{

double Tenkansen = iIchimoku(NULL,0,9,26,52,MODE_TENKANSEN,1);

double Kijunsen = iIchimoku(NULL,0,9,26,52,MODE_KIJUNSEN,1);

double Senkouspana = iIchimoku(NULL,0,9,26,52,MODE_SENKOUSPANA,1);

double Senkouspanb = iIchimoku(NULL,0,9,26,52,MODE_SENKOUSPANB,1);

double Chikouspan = iIchimoku(NULL,0,9,26,52,MODE_CHIKOUSPAN,1);

if(Open[1]<Chikouspan)OrderEntry();

}      

void OrderEntry()

{

OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,Lotsize,Ask,3,Ask-(StopLoss*pips),Ask+(TakeProfit*pips),NULL,MagicNumber,0,Green);

}     

I've also attached the entire EA to this post.

Ok, so all I'm trying to say here is if the Open of candle 1 is less than (below) Chikouspan (the green line of the indicator) then run the OrderEntry function which places a Buy order.

When I run this EA nothing happens, it doesn't place any trades (tested with 5 years of data), looking back through the chart it's obvious that it should have.

However if I replace "Chikouspan" with say, "Kijunsen" then it will place trades.

So my question is why will it not place trades based on Chikouspan?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rustyy117

Files:
ichimoku.mq4  3 kb

Please use the </> button to post your code.

1. When you post code please use the CODE button (Alt-S)! (For large amounts of code, attach it.) Please edit your post.
              General rules and best pratices of the Forum. - General - MQL5 programming forum

2. int Orders = OrdersTotal();