debugging MQL5 EA using artificial tick data

Hi, 

I need to deb an MQL5 EA using tick data that I would create on purpose, so to understand a strange behaviour i have noticed during real testing.

If I use backtesting or real testing I may not find extreme situations that make the bug happen again.

I know in 2012 it was not possible to backtest in MT5 with tick data other than that provided by MT5 itself. https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/9600#comment_5457186

Has the situation changed?

If not this is still for me a big disadvantage of MT5 respect to MT4...

Is tick data backtesting possible in MT5?
Is tick data backtesting possible in MT5?
  • www.mql5.com
Well, i'm new to MT5, i've full tick data and therefore i'd like to backtest using using my tick data (not randomly generated BID/Ask by Metatrader).

Please don't double or triple post.

With last build 1643 it is theoretically possible to import custom history, bars or ticks (thanks Alain for telling me!).

https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/206432

Anyway, I can't use it because once imported, the tick history doesn't seem to be available for backtesting. The strategy tester tries to "syncronize history" and it seems not to allow to use the locally stored data.

Besides, when I reopen the custom symbol "Ticks" tab, the previously imported history is gone.

Same disappearing of the imported data happens with "Bars".

I guess the "custom symbol" feature is not completely implemented, anyone can confirm?

MetaTrader 5 Platform Beta Build 1625: Custom financial instruments
MetaTrader 5 Platform Beta Build 1625: Custom financial instruments
  • www.mql5.com
MetaTrader 5 Platform Beta Build 1625: Custom financial instruments The updated version of the MetaTrader 5 platform will be released on Friday, Ju...

shloss:

With last build 1643 it is theoretically possible to import custom history, bars or ticks (thanks Alain for telling me!).

https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/206432