How often is OnTick function called?

Hi Im new to MQL4. As I understood from what I read online, OnTick() is called when a new tick comes. I understood as a change in the chart graph, i.e. price change. But when I attached my tester EA with counter to increase everytime the OnTick is called, it keeps on increasing every second. Id OnTick called every second even though there may not be any price changes in the chart Symbol? Any response appreciated. Thanks.

Hello incoming ticks vary with market activity you can see tick volumes by using iVolume() function.

https://www.mql5.com/en/docs/series/ivolume

Documentation on MQL5: Timeseries and Indicators Access / iVolume
Documentation on MQL5: Timeseries and Indicators Access / iVolume
  • www.mql5.com
The tick volume of the bar (indicated by the 'shift' parameter) on the corresponding chart or 0 in case of an error. For error details, call the GetLastError() function. The function always returns actual data. For this purpose it performs a request to the timeseries for the specified symbol/period during each call. This means that if there is...

Marco vd Heijden:

Hello incoming ticks vary with market activity you can see tick volumes by using iVolume() function.

https://www.mql5.com/en/docs/series/ivolume

Thanks for the quick response Marco. I do not see any variation at all. It just keeps on ticking every second. And it shows the updated values at the tick. I expected it to not tick constantly but to tick only when the chart graph makes a change. Do you think there is some paraeter that I should perhaps set to obtain this behaviour? A tick every second with or without a market move creates an unneccessary load of data to my application. More importantly, it does not update my interface within a second, so movements within a second is lost..

There can be thousand of ticks a minute so its normal for it to tick fast.

If you need something slower you can use a timer.