PositionType()

Hi,

I'm very new to mql5, so I apologize for struggling on this simple topic already.

I found an EA that is supposed to open a buy-order when:

int signal = 0 &&  PositionType() != POSITION_TYPE_BUY

or a sell order for:

int signal = 1 &&  PositionType() != POSITION_TYPE_SELL

For some reason the Program always just opened one sell- and one buy-order, although the signal variable kept changing.

To have a closer look of what is the problem, I add:

int posType = PositionType();

to find out what is the value of PositionType and why does it happen like this.

After the first run the signal = 1 and posType = -1, so a sell-order with 1 Lot has been placed. After that run posType changed to 1.

A few ticks later the signal changed to 0, whilst the posType = 1, so a  buy-order has been placed with 2 Lots, but posType remained 1.

So now I'm uncertain what PositionType() actually does. Shouldn't it change to 0 after the buy-position has been placed? 

tak88:

Hi,

I'm very new to mql5, so I apologize for struggling on this simple topic already.

I found an EA that is supposed to open a buy-order when:

int signal = 0 &&  PositionType() != POSITION_TYPE_BUY

or a sell order for:

int signal = 1 &&  PositionType() != POSITION_TYPE_SELL

For some reason the Program always just opened one sell- and one buy-order, although the signal variable kept changing.

To have a closer look of what is the problem, I add:

int posType = PositionType();

to find out what is the value of PositionType and why does it happen like this.

After the first run the signal = 1 and posType = -1, so a sell-order with 1 Lot has been placed. After that run posType changed to 1.

A few ticks later the signal changed to 0, whilst the posType = 1, so a  buy-order has been placed with 2 Lots, but posType remained 1.

So now I'm uncertain what PositionType() actually does. Shouldn't it change to 0 after the buy-position has been placed?