All Things Statistical

Hi,

Was looking everywhere for a general statistical thread for discussion of everything statistical along with a review of statistical indicators. Already, we have a Digital Filters Thread on frequency filters & a John Ehlers Indicators Thread & Cycles analysis. But the discussion of statistical stuff has been largely limited with not much mention. I'm a statistical newbie so it's good to hear varied and differing viewpoints. So i'll kick off my personal viewpoints by reviewing certain indicators available on TSD of which i'm currently interested in and investigating, so feel free to debate/correct me, as i believe a good intellectual environment is borne out of deep discussion:

=============================================================

1. Binary Entropy Indicator: Binary entropy function - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The indicator idea comes from information entropy, quantifying the amount of information available. Based on my personal research, one thing that is not made explicit is the fact that the function is not an exact Gaussian distribution, but is a sampled Gaussian distribution of sorts. Concept is good, but doesnt seem efficient perhaps. Still thinking about what further indicator modification could be done here.

2. Ehlers Fisher Transform: Fisher transformation - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia & Applying The Fisher Transform and Inverse Fisher Transform to Markets Analysis in MetaTrader 5 - MQL5 Articles

Fisher transform does variance stabilization & requires a Bi-variate normal distribution for both variables. Prices are bounded within a price range to achieve basic stationary signals before transformation is done. Sharp signals is a good point for this indicator. Will more specific frequency analysis via Z-transform via Laguerre be a better method instead?

3. Skewness & Excess Kurtosis: Kurtosis - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia