My first EA Help Please

Greetings,

Firstly, Im new to this forum, so hopefully this is the right section to post.

Secondly, I am new to coding and MQL4. I have read the book as well as the reference from MetaEditor and I do get the concepts. I tried to write a very basic EA, of a Moving Average Crossover, for now only opening buy orders. For some reason, when I put it into strategy tester, it doesnt seem to open any orders at all. Can someone please review my code and tell me whats wrong? Thank you.

//--- input parameters
input int      MA_FastPeriod=5;
input int      MA_SlowPeriod=10;
input int      TakeProfit=20;
input int      StopLoss=10;
input double LOTS=0.01; 
double MA1=iMA(Symbol(),0,MA_FastPeriod,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_CLOSE,0);
double MA2=iMA(Symbol(),0,MA_SlowPeriod,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_CLOSE,0);
//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
//| Expert initialization function                                   |
int OnInit()
  {

//---
   return(INIT_SUCCEEDED);
  }
//| Expert deinitialization function                                 |
void OnDeinit(const int reason)
  {
//---

}
//| Expert tick function                                             |
void OnTick() {
   if (MA1>MA2)
    {
      if (OrdersTotal()<1)
        OrderSend (Symbol(), OP_BUY, LOTS,Ask,1,Ask+StopLoss*Point, Ask+TakeProfit*Point, NULL,0, 0,clrNONE);   
    } 
   return;
    }

After compiling, the toolbox says, at line 41, "return value of OrderSend should be checked" ..please, what does this mean? Yes, OrderSend does return an integer value, particularly the ticket number of the order, but why would I want it to be checked? Wont I see the ticket number in my terminal?

Most importantly though, the EA doesnt seem to open any orders at all... whats wrong?

Thank you.

forexwinter: Firstly, Im new to this forum, so hopefully this is the right section to post.

I tried to write a very basic EA, of a Moving Average Crossover,