Discussing the article: "Master MQL5 from beginner to pro (Part I): Getting started with programming"

Check out the new article: Master MQL5 from beginner to pro (Part I): Getting started with programming.

This article is an introduction to a series of articles about programming. It is assumed here that the reader has never dealt with programming before. So, this series starts from the very basics. Programming knowledge level: Absolute Beginner.

Finally, we got to practice! For now, we will do all the work in MetaEditor. It can be launched either using a shortcut (from the desktop or the Start menu), or directly from the MetaTrader terminal using one of the methods shown in the figure below (Figure 1).

Three ways to open MetaEditor.

Figure 1. Three ways to open MetaEditor: 1 - toolbar button, 2 - menu, 3 - hotkey (F4)

Author: Oleh Fedorov

Frankly speaking, there is nothing to discuss yet, let's see what will happen in other parts of the series. If the author suddenly "goes straight to OOP", then that's it - you can stop reading further. For those who start from scratch, you should first understand simple procedural programming. This is my wish to the author as a beginner who has learnt only the basics of MQL5 programming language.

Regards, Vladimir.

I could only read the introduction... I can't read any more of this drabble... Sorry.

Alexey Viktorov #:
I could only read the introduction... I can't read this drabble any further... Sorry.

I agree, of course everything written is important, but from the point of view of a trader who does not know how to program - nothing. Maybe the next publications will be more cheerful and substantive....

MrBrooklin #:

... If the author suddenly "goes straight to OOP", then that's it - you can safely finish further reading.

I don't agree with you, you should apply OOP right away.

Sergey Pavlov #:

But I disagree with you, you should apply OOP right away.