365 Trade: Finding the Flow

The goal of this thread will be to post lessons learned from my perspective as a both a trader and Tai Chi/Qigong teacher. Assuming there is any interest I will try to make somewhat frequent posts.

The title "365 Trade" is a concept taken from a book called "365 Tao", which gives the reader a valuable lesson each day taken from a Taoist point of view. Although I don't trade every day of the year, I look at my charts almost every day of the year, and lessons can certainly be learned even when a trade is not taken.

A brief background about me: I have been trading Forex since 2005. It wasn't until 2008 that I ended a calendar year with profits. This learning curve is quite normal. Somewhere towards the end of '07 I began to actually "see" the market. It doesn't mean I am now always right. It just means I enter trades with purpose and understanding.

I credit my meditative practices hugely with giving me the patience and calm to trade profitably, and I hope I can encourage others to give some sort of mind-body movement a chance. It may just improve your trading, and relieve some of the stress and anxiety that will cause you to make bad decisions and negatively affect your health and well-being.

In my next post, i will tackle the first lesson.

Balance is the first lesson I learned myself that led to being a better trader. I was anything but balanced in the very beginning, spending countless hours watching charts, taking way too many trades, and watching with great anxiety as my over-leveraged trades went against me. I'm sure this is a very common and perhaps familiar scenario to some of you, whether currently or at some point in your trading endeavors.