MetaTrader 4 external DLL Crashes When Attempting to use printf fopen fprintf etc.

Hi, I'm an experienced developer attempting to use MT4 with an external DLL for the first time. Following the excellent instructions here http://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=333471 I have been able to compile and install the ExpertSample DLL that ships with MT4. Unfortunately any attempts to invoke the DLL caused a crash:
ExportFunctions EURUSD M5: function 'GetIntValue' call from 'ExpertSample.dll' critical error c0000005 at 610D6734

I quickly established that the problem is the printf() statement, if I remove it then the problem goes away and the call to GetIntValue() and other ExpertSample functions work ok.

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
//|                                                                  |
//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
MT4_EXPFUNC int __stdcall GetIntValue(const int ipar)
  {
   printf("GetIntValue takes %d\n",ipar);    // For Some Reason this is causing a crash when called from MT4.
   return(ipar);
  }

Thinking, well, it is unclear what stdout (the normal C/C++ output stream) represents in the context of a DLL called from the MT4 terminal. I attempted to use fopen() and fprintf() to write output to my own log file instead of printf. Unfortunately any attempt to invoke stdio functions from within the DLL crash. I even tried launching terminal.exe piping the output >terminal.exe > stdout.txt but that made no difference.

I've tried this compiling ExpertSample.cpp as a C++ program and as a simple C program (complies OK with just a few minor tweaks). And in both cases the results are the same. The DLL is fine, unless any I/O functions are used and then it crashes.

The only thing that might be a little unusual is that I'm compiling and linking using the GCC compiler with the Eclipse IDE instead of the more usual Visual Studio / Microsoft complier.