MT5 Feature Request: Configurable Path to Data Storage

So far as I can tell, MT5 is hard-coded to cache its data in AppData\Roaming in the user's account, which will normally be on the C disk. Unless I'm missing something, there is no way to configure the data path.

Like many users, I have a small SSD drive on C to hold my apps, and I store my large data on an HDD. My SDD is nearly full, so I didn't have the space to backtest using bulky real tick data.

I've found a workaround using portable mode and a batch file, but I'm a geek and many users would struggle with this. Plus it was a tiresome waste of time.

As a developer myself adding the option to configure the data path looks like a trivial job. Checking the forums, many users seem to have struggled with this over the years. This is an ugly anti-feature - surely it's time to fix it?

Please add this to the road-map - I'm sure it would be much appreciated.

gcaplan:

So far as I can tell, MT5 is hard-coded to cache its data in AppData\Roaming in the user's account, which will normally be on the C disk. Unless I'm missing something, there is no way to configure the data path.

Like many users, I have a small SSD drive on C to hold my apps, and I store my large data on an HDD. My SDD is nearly full, so I didn't have the space to backtest using bulky real tick data.

I've found a workaround using portable mode and a batch file, but I'm a geek and many users would struggle with this. Plus it was a tiresome waste of time.

As a developer myself adding the option to configure the data path looks like a trivial job. Checking the forums, many users seem to have struggled with this over the years. This is an ugly anti-feature - surely it's time to fix it?

Cool idea, would be really useful, so far I solved this problem by moving the terminal folder to a big drive and using mklink:

mklink.exe /d /j "C:\Users\almighty\AppData\Roaming\MetaQuotes\Terminal\<terminal-id>" "d:\large-hard-drive\path\terminal-folder-copy"