Handling market data hiccups: Improving EA resilience.

Would like to discuss a challenge I've been facing since 2004 (MT3 at that time). As we all know EAs rely heavily on consistent and reliable market data to perform optimally. However, in the real world, sometimes we face data gaps and anomalies (let alone spread spikes and broker-server disconnects).

Just the other day my EA encountered an issue during a particularly volatile moment. There was a data gap that caused it to miss out some decent entry (needless to say, left me feeling frustrated).

I'm sure everybody is facing similar hiccups to occur every once in a while, so would love to learn insights from the wise minds here:

1. What techniques help to deal with market data gaps and anomalies?

2. How do you ensure your EA remains stable and responsive when data irregularity occur?

3. Have you built any specific error handling/recovery to mitigate the impact of data issues?

4. What are the best ways to handle midnight “roll-over“ crazy spreads?

5. Do you agree that history data gaps and irregularities help, in a way, to avoid "curve-fitting"?

Looking forward to an insightful and practical discussion!

Error Handling and Logging in MQL5
Error Handling and Logging in MQL5
  • www.mql5.com
This article focuses on general issues linked to handling software errors. Furthermore, the logging term is brought up and the examples of logging implementation with MQL5 tools are shown.

What techniques help to deal with market data gaps and anomalies?

==> I think the good approach is to avoid losses... Missing profit is not that important. So if I face an unpredictable incident I prefer to make sure the EA is doing nothing and I do not have a running trade with high exposure.

How do you ensure your EA remains stable and responsive when data irregularity occur?