Cannot compile as variable is not defined.....however variable will come from an indicator which will be linked. How can I compile EA that is coded to accept variables from an external indicator?

Hi,

I am a newbie at this so please be patient. I am practising on an EA that uses an external indicator to pass variables to the EA. However, after coding the EA it will not compile as there is an error message stating "variables not defined". How can I get the EA to compile.

Here is the relevant section of code:-

double L_1=iCustom(NULL,0,"rocseparate",H,P,B,A,1,0);

double L_5=iCustom(NULL,0,"rocseparate",H,P,B,A,5,0);

//------------------------------------------------------------------------5b--

if (L_5>=-Level &amp;&amp; L_1<L_5)

Use the SRC button to paste Source code.

The values in the iCustom call need to be explicit values. If variables, you need to define them. Post the indicator code and we will be able to see what it is you are trying to do. The iCustom is setting values in the indicator. If it requires the letter H as a string then you will need to write "H", in other words put double quotes around it.

Willforth:

Hi,

I am a newbie at this so please be patient. I am practising on an EA that uses an external indicator to pass variables to the EA. However, after coding the EA it will not compile as there is an error message stating "variables not defined". How can I get the EA to compile.

Here is the relevant section of code:-

//------------------------------------------------------------------------5b--

"variables not defined". So do it In the code of the indicator simply to read at... https://book.mql4.com/samples/iroc

extern int History =5000; // Amount of bars in calculation history
extern int Period_MA_1=21; // Period of calculated MA
extern int Bars_V =13; // Amount of bars for calc. rate
extern int Aver_Bars =5; // Amount of bars for smoothing

define H, P, B, A in iCustom, or directly put value inside it