expert advisor

Hello, I'm new to mql5 and generally not a good programmer. I am playing around with an ea that utilises price differentials between last and previous prices as a volatility factor and places a trade based on this. My code compiled fine but upon stategy-testing, no trades are placed, hence no meaningful data. Also, the graph of balance/equity are both horizontal straight lines. I will appreciate any help here. Thanks!

#include<Trade\Trade.mqh>
CTrade trade;

MqlTick tick_array[];
int OnInit()
  {

ArraySetAsSeries(tick_array,true);

return(INIT_SUCCEEDED);
  }

void OnDeinit(const int reason)
  {

}

void OnTick()
  {
   if(CopyTicks(_Symbol,tick_array,COPY_TICKS_INFO,0,2)<2)
   return;

// Difference between the last two ask prices, as a volatility determinant
   double en=tick_array[0].ask-tick_array[1].ask;

if(en>=10*_Point)
   // Enter a Sell position if volatility reaches a positive threshold
   {trade.Sell(0.02,NULL,tick_array[0].ask,(tick_array[0].ask+5*_Point),(tick_array[0].ask-5*_Point),NULL);
   }
   else if(en<=-10*_Point)
   // Enter a Buy position if volatility reaches a negative threshold
   {trade.Buy(0.02,NULL,tick_array[0].bid,(tick_array[0].bid-5*_Point),(tick_array[0].bid+5*_Point),NULL);
   }
  }

amabeliever: Hello, I'm new to mql5 and generally not a good programmer. I am playing around with an ea that utilises price differentials between last and previous prices as a volatility factor and places a trade based on this. My code compiled fine but upon stategy-testing, no trades are placed, hence no meaningful data. Also, the graph of balance/equity are both horizontal straight lines. I will appreciate any help here. Thanks!

You are not verifying the return values from either the method functions or the trade results, so how will you know if it succeeded or not and why?

There should also be log output in Strategy Tester Journal. Did you analyse it?