Help with Backtesting

Hi Im an advanced trader but just starting to get into Metatrader4.

I followed several youtube videos on how to do a basic backtest on Metatrader and I can do all the steps required but then when I press Start my platform never seems to finish the test. 

It will run for forever for over half an hour on only a small test section of 1 month on daily bars for the built in MACD

I tried several different paramaters all with the same result.

Is there something I am not doing correctly ?

Thanks in advance.

ts

Hi

Have a look on the Results and Journal tabs to see if the EA is actually setting up trades

iRick:

Hi

Have a look on the Results and Journal tabs to see if the EA is actually setting up trades

Hi Rick thanks for replying didnt know how this forum was going to work : )

The Results tab is empty. But this is the Journal Tab

Tks Cheers

Fred7777:

Hi Rick thanks for replying didnt know how this forum was going to work : )

The Results tab is empty. But this is the Journal Tab

Tks Cheers

So it not putting on any trades, potential it's stuck in an infinite loop

You can use the Print function (https://docs.mql4.com/common/print) within the EA code to see what's happening with various variables

Or try altering the SL/TP to a range you know should trade to see if it's working as expected

Print - Common Functions - MQL4 Reference
Print - Common Functions - MQL4 Reference
  • docs.mql4.com
Data of double type are shown with the accuracy of up to  16 digits after a decimal point, and can be output either in traditional or in scientific format, depending on what entry will be more compact. Data of float type are output with 5 digits after a decimal point. To output real numbers with another accuracy or in a predefined format, use...

iRick:

So it not putting on any trades, potential it's stuck in an infinite loop