You know what I love...

Spending endless hours with the brilliant MQL debugger, coding an new idea. Watching endless visual backtests to see that everything is working ok. Finally, I think I have a winner (I'm sure you all know this feeling), only to find out that my history data has once again become 'corrupted' and that if I wipe the history and re-download the data (for what seems like the 1000th time) the idea does not work. In case you have not worked it out, I'm being sarcastic, WHEN WILL METAQUOTES FIX THIS F**KIN BULLS**T!!!

I have some experience in backtesting:

- I am discunnecting of Metatrader from the broker;

- deleting all history files.

- I am downloading Alpari data which is back to 2001.

- and backtesting in MetaTrader's offline mode.

Why offline mode?

Because I'm affraid that Meatrader will download some uknown data from somewhere and good data will be mixed with bad one.

Why Alpari data?

many people spent a lot of time during the long period of time creating and checking this data so this data is ok. Besides it is free (not for money as many other unknown data).

Just hope that somebody will do the same with other broker's data but it is not really easy.

I am not recommending to backtest EAs in Metatrader's data which everybody can download in build 200 for example.

Thank you for your relpy, how does one set this 'offline mode' for the tester?

Craig:
Thank you for your relpy, how does one set this 'offline mode' for the tester?

What is one set?

I am doing it exactly as Codersguru article:

http://www.metatrader.info/node/67

https://www.mql5.com/en/forum

Only differencies that I am doing it in offline mode from the beginning: i mean I disconnet from broker's server. Otherwise Metaquotes may download some data and I should start from the beginning. But good things are the following: their data is always on the different files so I can simple delete it.