Array parameters

Hi there,

I'm just getting started with MQL4 but I'm not new to programming.

I've had fun setting up a few indicators preparatory to writing some EAs to implement and test trading strategies.

Can anyone tell me how I pass array parameters?

For example I want to take a mean of a range out of a time series with something like:

double ts_mean(double range[],int end, int start=0){
   //
   // Return the arithmetic mean of the specified range of the specified time series
   double sum=0.0;
   for(int i=start; i<end; i++){
      sum+=range[i];
   }
   return(sum / (end-start));
}
This wont compile and I believe its because of my attempt to define the input array with c syntax.

whippy:

Hi there,

I'm just getting started with MQL4 but I'm not new to programming.

I've had fun setting up a few indicators preparatory to writing some EAs to implement and test trading strategies.

Can anyone tell me how I pass array parameters?

For example I want to take a mean of a range out of a time series with something like:

This wont compile and I believe its because of my attempt to define the input array with c syntax.

Solved this myself with the list that came up after the post - I tried searching before posting - how do I search to see that list before asking the question?

Hello whippy

That list, with the lightbulb top left corner?... is I'd imagine thread context sensitive and pulls up relevant topic headings. Should my imaginings be reasonable, then you cannot search for this list.

Searching???

1. have you learned to use MetaEditor's context sensitive help?

2. The location of items is somewhat hit 'n miss at times but perseverance is KEY to anything on this site or within the ClientTerminal realm :)

3. You will most certainly find ALL that you need in the editor docs related to functions, formal arguments,... is all there.

4. Also, you can find much info with pretty pics by diving into THE BOOK - see link top all site pages.