What am I doing wrong? - page 2

FXtrader2008:

Actually, there is perhaps another way to launch trades that just occurred to me.

You could run your EA in a continous "while" loop and use the internal clock on your computer to launch the trades, instead of waiting for an incoming tick to launch the Start() function.

could you explain that method in more detail? I'm still new to mq4 programming.

also, i wrote a new script in light of the "ticking" problem...

#include <stdlib.mqh>
#include <WinUser32.mqh>

extern double Lots = 1.0;
extern double Hours = 15;
extern double Minutes = 30;

int start()
{

//begin--------------------------------------------------------------+
if(OrdersTotal() == 0)
{
if(Hour() == Hours)
{
if(Minute() == Minutes)

{
OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,Lots,Ask,10,Ask-15*Point,Ask+30*Point,"BUYER",0,0,Green);
}
}
}
//end----------------------------------------------------------------+

//begin--------------------------------------------------------------+
if(OrdersTotal() == 1)
{
if(Hour() == Hours)
{
if(Minute() == Minutes)

{
OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_SELL,Lots,Bid,10,Bid+15*Point,Bid-30*Point,"Seller",0,0,Red);
}
}
}
//end----------------------------------------------------------------+

return(0);
}
//+------------------------------------------------------------------+

it's set to run at 15:30, but when i test it in the simulator on gbp/jpy, it places more sell trades than buy trades... i only want it to place 2 trades, one sell, and one buy... what am i doing wrong?

deymer,

When I run your code in the backtester on GBPJPY I get a mass of "130" and "4107" errors.

Take a look at the same code here https://book.mql4.com/trading/ordersend.

You need to add error correction code to your EA. Brokers typically increase the spread during news events. I think that is why I am getting all those errors.

With respect to the "while" loop suggestion, let me work on that a bit and see what I come up with.

FXtrader2008:

deymer,